New Jersey Continuing Education Requirements

Find the New Jersey Continuing Education That's Right For You

There are several different statuses that a New Jersey real estate license can have, and each status has its own Continuing Education requirements. Find the status of your license below to see what you need to complete.

Not sure where to start?

The following resources can help you answer some frequently asked questions regarding NJ renewals:
Check Your Hours, Check Your License Status, How To Choose The Correct Cycle.

 

Then review your license status from one of the sections below.

Active License

A license has an active status if it was last renewed in 2019, or if the licensee has made up enough credit to re-activate it. Renewals are due every two years, on April 30 (to avoid a fine) in even-numbered years.

Buy Now »

The CE You Will Need

Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

  • 1 Hour - Fair Housing

  • 2 Hours - Ethics

  • 3 Hours - Core

  • 6 Hours - Electives: A mix, or all of the same, of any of the following three CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

Note: You'll need to apply your course completions to the current cycle (2019-2021) in order to receive proper credit toward your renewal.

Inactive License

A license has an inactive status if it has lapsed and has not been properly renewed with the state. If the license has been inactive for more than two years from the license's last expiration date, you will need to contact the New Jersey Real Estate Commission for options on reinstating its active status.

Buy Now »

The CE You Will Need

Referral License

A license is in referral status when a licensee is not actively working as an agent but still makes commission for referring others to a brokerage. If a licensee wants to remain in referral status, no CE is required of them. However, there are specific requirements for taking a license from referral status back to active status.

Buy Now »

The CE You Will Need

  • Are You Staying In Referral Status?
    • Yes

      You do not need CE. See the New Jersey FAQs.

    • No
      • What Type of License Did You Have Before Going to Referral Status?
        • Salesperson
          • If you had a Salesperson License before going into referral status and:
            • Were in referral status for less than three years:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

            • Were in referral status for more than three years but less than six years:

              Hours Required by the State: 18 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

            • Were in referral for more than six years:

              Hours Required by the State: 30 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

        • Broker or Broker-Salesperson
          • If you had a Broker or Broker-Salesperson License before going into referral status and:
            • Were in referral status less than three years:

              Hours Required by the State: 18 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

            • Were in referral status more than three years, less than 6 years:

              Hours Required by the State: 24 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

            • Were in referral status more than 6 years:

              Hours Required by the State: 30 hours, all in Core or Ethics hours

              Note: In order to reinstate active status on your license, you will need to apply your course completions to the previous cycle (2017-2019).

              After your license status is changed to active, you will need:

              Hours Required by the State: 12 hours

              • 1 hour - Fair Housing

              • 2 hours - Ethics

              • 3 hours - Core

              • 6 hours - Electives: A mix, or all the same, of any of the following CE types: Electives, Ethics, Core, or Fair Housing

        • Always Referral

Questions?

FAQs

Visit our FAQs page.

Live Chat

Click here to chat now.

Email

Email Us

Phone

888.827.0777